How to become a game designer?

I’m very interested in designing and playing RPG’s like Diablo 1/2, Lore, etc.

I’ve researched this back in the 90’s, and back then, the way to do it was by getting a degree in programming, and then becoming a systems analyst.

In the late '90’s, the paradigm changed and then the career path was through game theory and AI, and some colleges offered degrees in actual game design.

But, if I got a degree in say military strategy and/or medieval technology/weaponry and have decades of experience playing these games, would it be possible to get a job designing games? In other words, is it possible to design computer games if my expertise is in the content, not the process?

Seems to me knowing the content of the video games but not the process would qualify you to be a consultant, not a game designer. You’re probably going to need the computer science knowledge to get anywhere at a game designer, the reason being they often are moved to different projects or genres, which might make your specialized knowledge a little less important. For example, game designers frequently consult military experts on strategies and the like, but it just remains a consultation… They take that knowledge and go back and design the game themselves.

Yeah. No matter how boring you might find programming, the fact is that games get made by people who make them, not people who talk about them. If a job ever existed for people to just talk about video games, the position would be already filled. But look at it this way: BS in compsci while building a portfolio of mods in your spare time? That’ll take four years, 6 to 8 part-time. Becoming a big enough expert in strategy and medieval history to outshine all the Middle Ages wonks and history buffs at prestigious universities, and get a phone call from the Total War team asking you if you wanna be a realism consultant for a few weeks? That sounds like it would take the better part of a lifetime.