Becoming competitive for jobs in the gaming industry

Hi everyone, I thought I might as well make my first post something that was decently relevant to at least one person. ^^

So here’s the deal: I have a bachelor’s degree in software engineering, and I basically work as a mid-level manager, directing and supervising project teams of twenty people or less. I’d rather not do this for the rest of my life, and no matter how attractive the prospect of working to make games is I understand that even low-level positions tend to be very, very competitive.

As such, I was wondering if there was anything I could do, other than continuing to expand my programming knowledge in relevant areas, to build competence that would give me an advantage on applications? (I want to do scenario design, but since I’ve been advised that it’s pretty much impossible to start there I’m entertaining the thought of any technical posting.)

I also notice that a lot of applications request a list of the games you’ve worked on, and what you’ve done for them. In order to ethically bolster that area of a resume, would it make sense to start volunteering to work on (good) mods of existing games?

I can’t answer directly, but I will share this:

The only time I had the opportunity to work for an established game company (they had already done Silent Hunter) I found that the pay was so low as to be unacceptable to me. When I turned the job down because of this the man was truly surprised and said that the pay scales in the game industry were traditionally low.

That is only a sample-set of one, so I don’t know if his statement is true.

I’m a game designer with Sony. My first piece of advice is to go to Tom Sloper’s website and read what he has to say about how to break into the game industry. Tom’s been in the business for 20 years and knows what he’s talking about.