How do one get started in "creative" gaming jobs?

I don’t want to hijack this interesting thread on getting into the gaming industry as a programmer, but I’d like to ask a related question. How does one get into the industry as a writer? I’m currently a technical writer with a stimulating job (believe it or not), but I’m curious about the creative writing aspect of the gaming industry. How does one get hired as a scenario/script writer? Is anyone actually hiring this kind of professional at the moment? What kind of portfolio should one build? I’m also curious about how other “creative” types, such as graphic artists, get their start. (No disrespect to developers intended, I’m just trying to separate nuts-and-bolts game development from composed game content.)

I don’t have very much information about this, other than I know someone who was trying to get a similar job, and I know they wrote short stories. (Not sure if they were related or not).

You could check out the help-wanted sections of gaming outfits like BioWare (my brother knows a few people who work there). Right now they have a position for ‘senior writer’ with lots of info that sounds similar to what you’re looking for.

Thanks, Nanoda. The requirements they give are very thorough…This is a good place to start.

I’ve got two Internet friends who have this sort of position (one of them is at Bioware, I think). The Bioware one is a published fantasy author; the other guy is a published D&D author and administrator of a gaming messageboard. It helps, I think, to be proven in related fields.

Daniel

Writer is one of the hardest jobs in the games industry to get. Most games are still written by one of the designers on the development team. Sometimes pros are hired from outside the outside the team, but it’s usually a name guy that brings some ‘perceived’ PR value.