How to stop someone from sending glurge

I used to be a teacher and a few months ago a former student of mine from 20 years ago got in touch. We exchanges a few pleasant catch-up email and all was fine.
Then it started… the glurge.
She sends and forwards email with pictures of babies, kitten and puppies. She forwards inspirational poems. She forwards chain letters. The one I got today had babies, hearts, a poem and ended with

Whimper… make it stop!

No, you make it stop. :slight_smile: Seriously, just tell her to knock off the cutesy shit (in nicer terms than that).

Have you tried asking her not to forward stuff to you? Unless you use Gmail, you might try telling her that your mailbox has a size limit (this won’t work with Gmail, since so many people know that Gmail doesn’t have such limits). That’s what I did years ago with my relatives who forwarded stuff to me (back when I did have a limited mailbox), and it worked.

ETA: If they don’t stop (and they probably won’t 100%), you can often tell that something is glurge from the message title, or from the long list of email messages at the top of it. You can delete those messages without reading them.

Been in your shoes. I either explain that I do not enjoy reading stuff like that, or I just never reply and they eventually get the idea.

C’mon now, this isn’t that hard.

"Dear so and so,

While I enjoy our correspondence, and I’m glad to be back in touch with you, I’m not really into those chain mail, and picture forward thingies. Could you do me a favor and don’t send them to me, I’d hate to mistakenly delete a message from you thinking it was one of those things since I don’t read them and just delete them. Thanks! "

I used to get a lot of it too. I never responded: ever. I don’t get much, if any anymore.