HR Dopers, help please. E-mailing resumes; Attachment or in body?

I’ve been unemployed for a month. Thanks to the wonderful interweb thingie, I’m able to do the job search thing mainly on-line. The problem is, I haven’t been having much luck. A lightbulb suddenly appeared above my head; maybe it’s because I’m sending the resumes as attachments, specifically as OpenOffice .odt files.
So, what would the best way to send my resume; as a .odt, .doc, or just as part of the e-mail body (with my cover e-mail above the resume?)

Thanks in advance, DESK

Send as a .doc or .txt file – some extremely common format that anyone will be able to open. I’ll admit to being a cyber-ignoramus, but I’ve never heard of .odt.

.doc and txt are the only ones that you should ever use. Do you have your resume posted to boards like Monster and Hotjobs? That is where you can get activity.

Sometimes it takes many resumes and a long time to get a response. I am a consultant do that makes me job hunt often. I estimate that I send out at least 50 resumes for every response. However, most of the promising leads actually locate me from a job board. It is important to have your info out there.

I’d include it as text below the body of your email. Attachments can get stripped out by email filters, can be in the wrong format, or the person receiving them may not know to look for them or how to open them.

Plain text, on the other hand, always gets through, is easily read, and if the person knows how to open the email he/she can read the resume.

I sometimes include it as a .doc file as well, just in case it gets through and the person knows how to look at .doc files.

I would include it as an enclosure because if they can open and use it, it’s prettier.

Then write your note and add the text beneath that, since chances are they won’t bother to ask you for it if they can’t read an enclosure.