HR Recruitment Etiquette - HR and non-HR-types welcome

As most of you know, I graduated with my master’s this past spring. I’ve been looking for a job. I’ve had a few callbacks here and there, but nothing so far.

However, one large company I’ve applied to has me concerned. I’d applied for several positions with this company through an online job fair sponsored by my university’s career center. I got an immediate response from a manager for one position, and we scheduled an interview for the following Monday. However, she was too busy to interview me, so she passed me off to a lower-level manager with the promise that she’d call me to re-schedule with her. I e-mailed the following day with a “thank you” and to let me know when I could meet with her. I have still not heard back and it’s been six weeks.

The other thing is that I was to have a phone interview this afternoon with another division of the same company. The person who was to interview me had to leave suddenly, which I understand. But she didn’t call me to reschedule, nor did she have anyone else do so. I would’ve been kept waiting until she or someone else got back to me, assuming they did so. I got the number from my cell phone and called them to reschedule, which makes me wonder just how efficient their HR department is.

Given both experiences, I think I was treated rather disrespectfully by this company.

The question is, with all the advice given to job-seekers about showing courtesy and deference to the hiring managers of companies they apply to, is there a minimum standard of courtesy that job-seekers should be able to expect from hiring and recruitment managers? My experience with the above company is teaching me that courtesy is a one-way street; that I should show it to the company, but I have no reason to expect it in return.

Am I wrong in feeling this way?

Robin