I don't know if I need advice, support, or a smack upside the noggin

My husband has a host of health issues, including mental health problems including depression, anxiety, and diagnosed agoraphobia.

He seems to border on hypochondria at times, and is often insistent that he see a doctor.

He refuses to make his own doctor appointments or otherwise to contact his doctors’ offices for information, refills, etc. This led, earlier this year, to a misunderstanding that put him in the hospital. I was expected to relay complicated messages back and forth and didn’t do an entirely adequate job.

I have since refused to make any such calls. I am not a doctor and cannot ask him the correct questions. My acting as a conduit nearly killed him. I do not want to do it again.

His previous psychiatrist left him in the lurch and his internist has referred him to a new one. That doctor will not accept third-party appointments at all. They wouldn’t even allow his doctor to set up the appointment. They require that the patient call.

And, of course, he won’t.

Since the blowup, there hasn’t been any opportunity for harm to come of our policies (his refusal to call, my refusal to call), but obviously this is a brick wall. I can’t force him to do anything.

I have pretty much the patience of a rabid gopher when it comes to this topic, and am at my wit’s end.

Any help, advice, perspective, 2 x 4s, narcotics, or ice cream would be greatly appreciated.

This may sound goofy, but would he be willing to talk to an answering machine, if he knew that there wouldn’t be an actual person on the other end? Would he be willing to write letters requesting appointments? Or emails?

You have my sympathy.