I found a skull. How do i clean it?

I found this cute little skull the other day. Well, actually, it’s kinda ugly with these wicked teeth (i’m pretty sure it was a Fisher) but i’d like to keep it around for-with to stage Hamlet when ever i get the urge.

Anyway, i’ve had it soaking for 2 days now, 1 day in alcahol and water and 1 day in weak bleach and water mixture. Although most of the flesh - lord this is gross- that was there when i found it is gone there are still some little bits of tissue i can’t seem to get off with a toothbrush (my brother’ll never be the wiser) and the jaw mussles are pretty solid.

I don’t really want to take anything harder like an SOS pad to it because i’m scared it will scratch and I’m not sure if i should stick it in some more bleach as there are alredy some spots that are lookin kinda thinned and a couple pin holes that wern’t there before. What else can i try?

It’s probably a good thing that i’m new at this, but i am pretty clueless.

Dude, aren’t you worried that the skull might have come from a guy who was murdered in the area? If it’s a human skull, why in the name of holy hell didn’t you call it into the cops BEFORE you chucked it into your trunk and took it home like a fifth grader with a hockey trophy?

Yup, it’s that simple. Just bring the water to a gentle boil, insert the skull and come back in a couple of hours. Use a large pot so that you don’t boil off all of the water, and a boiling bag so you don’t accidentally lose small parts is probably a good idea, too.

Oh, and don’t use a regular toothbrush. Go to a carparts or gun store. Get a nylon bristled brush set, probably set ya back about $5 or so. You’ll get some smaller brushes and be able to reach all of the little spots that held soft tissues.

Once the skull’s clean, a clearcoat lacquer will strengthen the bone and help prevent oxidation. It will change the texture just a little bit, and if you use too much it’ll be shiny, but it’s well worth the trade, IMHO.