I fucked up Jello

I’ve always thought I was a pretty good cook. Been told that several times to back it up.

Mom wanted Jello. I fucked it up. Got a puddle of Cold Strawberry Soup.

What the Fuck, Man? How did that happen???

Did you add something like fresh pineapple or kiwi? Follow package directions? How old was the Jello?

Do you still have the box? Can you fish it out of the trash in a readable condition? It’s possible you got some sort of diet Jello that needed different cooking than the regular stuff.

Or where you trying to make it with sugar and powdered gelatin? If that’s the case, I think you didn’t use enough of the powder. I’ve done that before, it’s kinda weird how a very small amount of something can make such a big difference.

Don’t feel bad – the last time I made Jello it was all watery on top and hard and rubbery on the bottom. :frowning:
I have no idea what the fuck I did wrong.

As far as I know, you don’t cook Jello. Jello is the name for the colored and flavored gelatin. If you’re thinking of Jello pudding, that’s a different animal.

I would guess the most likely culprit is the enzyme in some fresh tropical fruits, as mentioned by Seanette, like pineapple, kiwi or papaya. They will prevent the gelatin proteins from firming up. Canned pineapple is ok, I can attest from experience. But not fresh.

I’ve also successfully used canned pineapple in Jello. Haven’t tried fresh, since I tend to trust “don’t do this” warnings in prep directions.

Even Kelly Bundy was able to make Jello. Did you add too much water? Did you add fruit?

No. Yes. New. Yes.

I figure its just a cosmic metaphor. Karmady.

Probably incomplete mixing of the powder into the water. Just a guess, based on using less water than called for results in a “harder”, more rubbery jello and using more makes a “softer” jello.

You mean like cows for pudding and horses for Jello?

No idea other than maybe incomplete mixing.
But you did remind me of an incident recounted by my wife.