I have $25,000. It's not all that much. But what to do with it? REIT?

I’ve thought about putting the $25,000 in an REIT (real estate investment trust) but I have never done investment before and have no idea how it’s run. I am guessing someone else would manage the REIT for me and I just let it passively pay me something like $1-2k a year in dividends?

The talk about mutual funds, index funds, etc. all goes way over my head.

In investment terms, $25k isn’t a lot. But I feel I ought to use it for something. It’s too big to let sit in savings, but too small to really do anything major like buy a house or anything.

The first question is never “what is the best investment”. It is “what is the purpose of this money in my life”.

Why is an index fund too complicated but a REIT isn’t?

For now, just to generate a little bit of passive income.

You always have to look at the costs that will be charged to you. Initially and ongoing. Will the investment returns at least equal these costs? Most importantly, what losses are you liable for? Can your investment go negative and cost you money? Buy a bunch of stock and it can go to zero and you are at zero. But some more complex vehicles can leave you liable to go below zero and have to pay out money. Do not go there!!
I do not know the details of a real estate investment trust. But it sounds like you will own a portion of multiple places where people live. Places where people live are open to bad things happening to those places. What is your liability to bad things happening? Is the trust fully insured against those bad things?
At what level are you buying into the trust? The naked to bad things happening level? Or the upper, protected by you taking the fall, level?
Maybe just buy blue chip, dividend paying stocks like Microsoft. Even if the market takes a big hit. If you can wait out the hit, sitting on a stock that will continue sales and profit through and after, then your 25K may weather the up and down relatively well.