I just got my first Phishing e-mail: from "Amazom.com"

Here’s the bulk of the e-mail message:

Dear Member,

We have detected some unusual activity in your Amazon.com account from another country.

For your security account we require to urgent identify your personal information.

Please click on the link bellow and go thriugh the whole process (I broke it up with a couple of spaces):
http:// host-7u-105.hosting.magiconline.fr/ .www.amazom. con/

It had me mildly fooled and alarmed for the space of about twenty seconds, until I looked closer at the address that the e-mail invited me to click on: “Amazom”, eh? Well, that and the horrible spelling and grammar. I think this is the first time I’ve been phished.

Anyway, be aware that you may be receiving this one, too. Do you think I ought to notify Amazon that someone’s phishing in their name?

I have never seen any information that suggested that Amazon has a setup whereby you can report phishing the way eBay does, so I wouldn’t worry about it.

Even if it hadn’t had “amazon” misspelled, you know better than to ever click on that sort of link, yes? Reputable companies don’t send out e-mails telling you, “There’s a problem with your account”–they call you on the phone.

ETA: because then that way they have proof that they did try to contact you and tell you that, for example, someone from another country was trying to hack your account. They need that proof to defend themselves against potential lawsuits from you, “Why didn’t you TELL me someone from Nigeria was trying to hack my account”?

Generally speaking, never click on links in e-mails without very carefully looking to see what the URL is first.

And that there is my number one reason for setting my mail reader to “Plain Text”. No links, just the real URL in text.

Amazon does have instructions on reporting phishing, but they must not care very much, because it’s hard to find. There should be a link on their front page, but noooooooo, they’d rather clutter it up with stuff to sell.

I found this page with instructions by way of the feedback/contact us link.

Thanks, AuntiePam, I found that link, too. I did report the phisher to them. I also sent around an e-mail here at work warning that a phisher was at work, and was aware of my business e-mail domain.

No, I would never click on a link that any e-mail sent me, but I was momentarily spooked. We have had recent security issues at Paypal and with our credit cards, so I was primed for alarm.

Pam already posted the link for Amazon. I believe they also support the spoof@amazon.com forwarding option.

Phishers are getting better these days. I had a couple recently that I actually paused and considered before trashing – one purported to be from GoDaddy; I forget the other one, but it looked pretty convincing on the surface.

Also, what the f**k are these “National Tobacco Survey” things? I’ve gotten it about 10 times in the last 4 days. Anyone else plagued by them?