I just sat through the worst anti-drunk driving presentation of my life

So, today I had the “pleasure” if sitting through a presentation by the Save a Life Tour, based on my being under the age of 26 and thus, at higher risk for being terminally stupid. This was by far the worst anti-drunk driving presentation I’d ever sat through, and I’ve been sitting through these things for about ten years now (since I took Driver’s Ed, incidentally).

Anyhow, they start off with a ten minute video (Red Asphalt V) which seemed to be almost entirely graphic depictions of horribly mutilated bodies from alcohol-related car wrecks. Dude who flew through a windshield and broke his neck, folks with their heads cracked open, dismembered limbs, I think one shot actually had a chunk of brain sitting in the grass. Somewhere mixed in here were friends and family members of drunk drivers and/or accident victims giving their emotional appeals, but really, this was mostly overshadowed by the director’s apparent fetish for mutilated bodies.:rolleyes:

Also, the two presenters, also trying their own emotional appeals, were two of the least charismatic guys I’ve ever met in my life. Maybe it was an off-day for them, maybe they ate breakfast in the chow hall and were fighting off a righteous case of intestinal distress, who knows, but if you want us to care about your losses, maybe for a start, you should give us reason to not be generally irritated with your presence.