I just saw "The Ninth Gate" - WTF?!

I saw “The Ninth Gate” on TV yesterday, as part of a Halloween special (which, thankfully, also included “Evil Dead”) and I just had to vent my frustration.
What was this movie supposed to be about? There’s some satanism, some people get killed, Johnny Depp travels through Europe… that’s it. There’s no ending, nothing even remotely scary happens, the actors obviously don’t believe in what they’re doing, and what little style there is in the directing gets lost in the overall inanity of the movie.
I’m not a big expert on Polanski (I haven’t even seen “Chinatown” or “Rosemary’s baby”), but I’ve seen his 1965 psychological horror piece “Repulsion”, which I thought was a wonderfully scary, eerily beautiful, and in the end very effective film. Needless to say, I didn’t find any of that in “The Ninth Gate”.
A friend of mine actually applauded the way in which the film managed to convey suspense in a non-Hollywood sort of way. I swear I have no idea what he’s talking about. Am I missing something here?

Basic premise:

Guy wrote a book with clues as to how to get in touch with the big S a couple hundred years ago. Modern day, wealthy publisher/Satanist thinks completing the secret ritual described in said book will gain him awesome EvilGuy powers and hires Depp, ancient book acquirer extraordinaire to go get him the last copies of said valuable book. Witches/demons in human guise, creepy old houses, foppish uber rich Satanic ritual/orgy poseurs all come and go. In the end, Satan wins.

I basically see this movie as a Satanic The Amazing Race. Amusing in a mindless way, and the spooky chick has a nice body which you missed in the broadcast version :slight_smile: