I made Pastrami!

Lately, I have been spending a lot of time at my smoker. I am new to the hobby, and my results are getting better. This weekend I had planned on a nice smoked brisket. I picked up a four pound flat. I rubbed it with fresh ground pepper, Kosher salt, onion powder, garlic powder and smoked paprika and let it sit in the fridge overnight.

This morning, I brought my offset smoker up to temp and laid my brisket tenderly on the grate. I smoked it with hickory and apple wood until it hit 170 degrees IT. I wrapped it in foil and continued on to 207 IT. It was as tender as could be. I wrapped it in a towel and put it in a cooler to rest for a couple of hours.

When I sliced it, it looked strange. I am used to a nice bright smoke ring with nice medium rare brisket in the middle. This was red all the way through. It was very tasty.

I did some research and realized that I had purchased a brisket marked “Brisket Flat for Corned Beef.” It was already Corned Beef. When I added seasoning and smoked it for six hours or so, I turned it into Pastrami.

I am now eating a pastrami and swiss sandwich on rye with pastrami i made myself…

They just had a segment on homemade pastrami (or ‘Faux Montreal Smoked Meat’, as the originator of this recipe calls it) on KPLU’s Food For Thought. Commentator Dick Stein said it tasted just like the actual smoked pastrami he had as a kid from Katz’s Deli in New York.

The text on the page is for the recipe. Click on ‘Listen’ to hear Dick Stein and Nancy Leson discuss it.

Thanks!

¡No hay problema!

I just listened to the story again, and read the comments.

I may have to try this recipe sometime myself!

My pastrami

Oh, my!

[checks location]

DAMMIT!