I may be fired soon

I’ve been working at a new job for the past four months, and at first things seemed to be going very well. They were happy with my performance and I get along great with the district manager. However, things have taken a very sudden turn and I’m genuinely concerned that I’ll be shown the door very soon. This is confusing to say the very least.

The first incident took place about three weeks ago when I was written up for insubordination. My manager sent an e-mail instructing me to do something but told me something else verbally, and when I followed the verbal instructions, her boss made the decision to write me up. At the time my immediate supervisor came in, told me what was up, and reassured me that it was no big deal, I was being placed on a 30 day probationary period, but not to worry, it would all blow over. I believed her. She told me that she knew how good of a job I was doing and that it would be OK, don’t freak out, etc.

Since that took place I’ve found out that a whisper campaign has been going on in one of the other branches (they handle payroll, etc) and they have been sending e-mails to my boss and her boss about every little thing I do, all along. We have met in person once - we communicate via phone calls and e-mail. My manager and her manager have dealt with these people before and roll their eyes at most of this behavior, but after a while you can’t help but believe some of it, right? After all, I’m still new at this and have had a minimal amount of training. When I was on the job for five weeks, the office manager quit and I was expected to step up and handle things. No raise, either.