I pit lousy food at holiday dinners (Moved from the Pit)

I cook as a hobby and while I’d never put myself forward as a great chef I like to think I do alright for myself. So it’s absolute murder for me to get invited to relatives for a holiday dinner. Everything is absolutely terrible; the food is only on the edge of edible.

So I put you turkeys roasted until they’re dehydrated as Antarctica’s dry valley. And green bean casserole that is closer to rancid soup. Fuck you instant mashed potatoes that lack seasoning and screw you too canned cranberry sauce. Screw off canned vegetables boiled until they’re brown and sweat potatoes with so much extra sugar on top that it sends it me into insulin shock.

Now if you don’t mind I need to find a place where I can pick up a sandwich on the way home.

I think I just threw up a little bit in my mouth…

I wasn’t paying attention to the roast, so it wasn’t rare. First piece was medium rare, but by the time I carved the rest there was very little pink – let alone red. Dammit.

But it still tasted good, in spite of being overdone. Boiled red potatoes mashed with a fork and mixed with some butter and milk and salt and coarse pepper. That was good. Green bean casserole tastes like… green bean casserole. Not much you can do to it. Yorkshire pudding was fabulous.

I do not regret that typo. I do however regret eating them.

You don’t know my relatives. They can ruin it just fine.

I’m regretting eating the panstickers I had at Christmas lunch today. We did the godless tradition of Chinese on Christmas. The pansticker sauce had a piece of spring roll in it. We didn’t order spring rolls, so this means they gave us sauce that had already been used by another party - perhaps with double-dipping. Ugh…