I seem to have no energy

I’m going to make an appt with the doctor (mainly because I’m due for a physical, including the delightful pap smear) but I seem to be tired all the time. Anyone else experience this?

My job is mentally challenging, not physically, so on busy days I’m multi-tasking like nobody’s business. I’m a manager of my department, so it is not unusual for me to get 20-30 phone calls a day and deal with requests both inside and outside my department.

But I get home, and I don’t want to do anything except change into my jammies, knit and watch some tv, then go to bed. I have caught myself looking at the clock to see if it’s not too early to go to bed.

I am asleep by 10pm and I sleep very well. But, oh, how I hate getting up!

Exercise? I’ve been trying to work out with weights, but the last few days I haven’t even wanted to do that.

There’s this little voice in my head that says I’m just being lazy, but I find it very hard to get motivated to do stuff.

BTW, I don’t think it’s low iron. I donate blood regularly and I’ve only been turned away once for low iron. Usually the blood drop sinks like a stone.

This and traffic is enough to go over to happy land (the mental ward). I know what you mean with the calls. It is very stressful. This kind of work is so much different than say, construction work. With physical work, your muscles can rebuild themselves and get stronger. I don’t think there is a mechanism in place for when your brain gets overloaded with the kind of work you do, so the only option for your brain is rest. It’s overworked, so you don’t feel like doing anything.