I want to be a doctor!

Yes, I’ve finally decided what I want to be when I grow up. Maybe.

My husband says I’ve been watching too much House. Perhaps. But the fact of the matter is that I think I actually want to become a doctor. So I’m appealing to the masses here at the dope to give me a real world idea of what I may be in for.

I’m going to be 34 in May. I’m having a baby in July. I figure if I get my shit together I can apply next year for admission to med school in fall of 2010. I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Environmental Science from UC Berkeley in 1997. I took 3 semesters of physics, several years worth of chemistry, and a year’s worth of biology in doing so, so I think I have all the basic requirements for undergrad work. My GPA was around 2.9, I think. I have excellent test-taking skills and am very confident that I will do well on the MCAT, especially given that I have a year to study. I have been working in mostly science-related jobs since college. Currently I work in an environmental testing lab.

My husband thinks I’m slightly crazy, but I feel excited at the thought of a new career using my brain and helping people. I get very frustrated dealing with idiots, but generally patients are more like customers - the people I work with will be relatively intelligent. I know I probably wouldn’t be a practicing MD until I’m 40, but I don’t feel discouraged by that - I’m bound to work another 20 years after that, at least. I think the internship will be the most challenging part of the entire venture.

So, thoughts? Am I nuts? What more can I do to increase my chances of being accepted? Warnings? Dire predictions? Experiences? Suggestions?

A few things, not comprehensive I’m afraid.