I want to shoot something.

Let’s face it: I’m a crap writer.

But I do well with images, and I have a lot of 16mm cameras.

So I’m sitting on the ferry from Nanaimo, as happens from time to time. In the past I’ve noticed something, and I did again this time. The “sun deck” has large rectangular windows in the outboard bulkheads. I’ll sit on a rear bench and look out the window in front of me. It’s like a TV, with people walking by, ships in the distance, and of course the sea.

So I want to set up a 16mm camera, load it with black and white film, and shoot the conveniently framed scenery and activity. I envision getting shots of people looking out the window as I do. Maybe one is eating popcorn.

Shooting from the deck to the mast would be a good image too.

Then I got the image of a woman. She’s petite, with short dark hair. She’s wearing a black Chenel dress. She’s going somewhere.

I’m going somewhere too, but I don’t know where. As I said, I can’t write. The “feel” is sort of Godardian.

Anyone want to throw out some ideas?

If you get bored, you can always switch from shooting people with a 16 mm manual to shooting people with a 9 mm auto.

Although there are those pesky laws about injury, murder, and loaded carry without a permit to deal with.

Don’t fall into the trap of being too pretentious with imagery in your first film. Almost a surefire disastrous route.

Come up with a story first. Sounds to me that it would work well for a simple “traveller returning home to their family” scenario, or something along those lines. Perhaps with no dialogue.

I’ve worked on several films. I shot my first film on super-8 for a class. I thought it was crap, but the rest of the class thought it was brilliant the way I showed the violence occuring in a field of poppies. Actually, it just happened to be Spring when I shot it.