I work for the man.

I just moved in to the most wonderful little beach cottage imaginable. Sadly, the rent, of which I am responisble for half of, is $1,200 a month. That means that this is not going to be a summer of fun- this is going to be a summer of slave labor.
I am unqualified to do anything except for stuff that I hate (data entry, anyone?).
I looked and looked. Then, on a whim, I applied at Blockbuster video, mostly because they had a wierd electronic hiring system. They gave me a job. So now, I, Evensven, indy film girl, commie, misanthrope, work for the man. I work as a small cog in the big evil force of multinational corporations. I am an enabler. I don’t know if I can continue to live with myself.
So everyday now, I get to take out my peirceings, put on some khakis, and trudge over to a florescently lit building to slave away at just over minimum wage to make somebody else even richer. Ugh! Values sure are hard things to maintain when you have a belly to feed.

I just thought of something- at least I’m not a telemarker!

Join the club.

That’s life in the 21st century.

Although your idealism isn’t bad, I must say. Just unrealistic.

By the way, just for my own personal information, how old are you? I’m curious as to why your idealism hasn’t been beaten out of you like it has for the rest of us.

http://www.customerssuck.com
d&r

Heheheheheh!!!

:smiley:

Seriously, I know I must sound like I make money or something, but it IS a perfect site for slave jobs.

Hell, evensven . . . at least you don’t work for the government.

…or any utilities. :o

…or AOL/Time Warner/Netscape/Winamp/whomever’s for lunch next week…

Ideals are fine until someone has to buy dinner.

No one escapes the tyrany of an empty belly. No shame in meeting your needs.

You should drown your sorrows at the next Bay Area Dopefest. If Doobieous can crawl up here every now and then, why not you, too?

HEY NOW!

[sub]pezpunk hangs his head in shame and cries[/sub]