"Ich bin kein Berliner!": A stranger tells me off for wanting a doughnut

This is much too mild for a pitting, so it’s going in MPSIMS.

Every morning, I get on a bus. I ride the bus into the next village over, whereupon I disembark and get on another bus or a train, depending on the day, and then I go into the city for school. This system usually works very well, except when it snows. For some reason, snow just stumps the internal mechanics of a bus to the point of it not being able to show up within a half an hour of its scheduled arrival time, despite this effect being totally absent on cars, trucks, and other vehicles, which zoom by merrily laughing at me as I stand at the bus stop for an undetermined amount of time in the snow. Please note that this is my first time living in a snowy environment, so I really don’t understand the mechanics of all of this at all.

Today was a Snow Day. I stood at various bus stops for an hour and ten minutes this morning in the snow in tennis shoes. By the time I got to the city, I was afraid of pushing the ‘stop requested’ button too hard lest my obviously frozen-solid fingers shatter like glass. I had just enough time for a quick stop at a cafe before my first class.

At the cafe I ordered a coffee and stood for a minute or so pondering the array of baked goods that was laid out before me. Should I go for the salami sandwich on whole grain bread or–nah, screw it, I’m getting a berliner.