If I study abroad, do I really need to know the language?

I mean, just memorize a few key phrases (where is the bathroom? You call this food? Not in the face!) and keep a translator dictionary in my back pocket, and I should be fine.

That whole language barrier thing will sort itself out… what with the total immersion and all, right?

Depends on the broad I guess … I mean, on the country you’re going to.

It depends on where you go and what sort of program you’re in. It can also be dependent on the language of the host country - if the language spoken there is rarely taught in the US, it’s hard to make fluency a requirement of study.

I studied abroad at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, which has a small school on campus for international students with classes taught in English. Unless we could demostrate Hebrew proficiency to a certain level, we had to go to ulpan, a Hebrew language immersion. I did mine at the University of Haifa for two months in the summer before school started. Five hours of Hebrew, five days a week. When regular school started, I had twelve hours of Hebrew a week, but my other classes were all in English. If you attained a certain level of Hebrew proficiency, you could take classes at the regular university (I achieved that level just when I was leaving, so I never actually took classes in Hebrew).

I had taken Hebrew for a year at my home university for a year, but it wasn’t much help. It’s not really a commonly taught language and plenty of my classmates didn’t even have the option of taking it at their home universities.