If Kim Jong-un Asked to Visit the United States...

Would we let him come?

So let’s say he said he wants to see the sights, take in a few Bulls games, and sit down and talk to the president.

The talking to the president part, assuming the president agrees, could easily be done in a third country, but he’d really have to come here for the other stuff. We know his interest in basketball is sincere and wanting to see something of another country is pretty normal, but this is Kim Jong-un we’re talking about here.

So what would likely be our response to such a request?
My son asked me this question earlier, and I said that I doubted it, but I had to admit that I really had no factual basis for that opinion. I’m confident that he would have ulterior motives, and I’m sure the state department would agree, though I don’t know how much of an effect that would have on the answer. I’m endlessly fascinated with North Korea and read a lot about it, but I’m far from an expert on any of it. We’ve been willing to meet with them directly, such as during the six-party talks, but meetings like that are quite a bit different from North Korea’s #1 baddie popping by for a visit.
I’m putting this in GQ instead of IMHO because I expect that the answers to this, while speculative, will be based on past precedent and current policy, so based in fact. Please move it if you feel otherwise.

What ulterior motives would those be ? Asking for political asylum ?
I am not American, but would assume a visit’s motives would be entirely open, normalizing trade, thrashing out alleged ideological differences, buying arms etc. etc.; and that he would have full rights of diplomatic traffic and speech as a sacrosanct head of state, just as would be reciprocated if Mr. Obama emulated Nixon and visited North Korea.

Let’s take the whimsy out of the OP: are you literally proposing that Kim would come to the US primarily for tourism? Or are you just being silly?