If not Greenpeace, then who?

I was solicited yesterday by a Greenpeace volunteer to join/donate to their organization. Don’t know much about G’peace, other than that they work to protect the environment and that they’re also a bit controversial with regard to their methods of informing people about environmental issues in the world. I read this thread where some people think they’re a heavy propaganda money-making machine, and some others think they’re just fine.

I probably ought to give more than what I do to Audubon.

So what are some other environment-benefitting organizations I can support, if Greenpeace is not necessarily the best place to put my money? Or is G’peace just fine?

Friends of the Earth? World Wildlife Fund?

Well you are talking to the right guy, happens to be what I do for a living.

What organizations can you donate to? I always say to start in your own backyard. Seriously. Farmer’s markets and local green initiatives fizzle and die if no one supports them. And they are often under funded and short on participation. G-Peace and World Wild life find and the like are monster organizations that do great things. But they have whole departments that write grants, solicite funds, make commercials, etc…etc… where the local wind/solar coop starting up down the street from your house is faltering. Support the people seeking to improve your neighborhood and state. Support your state and local green initiatives and drives…those can and will pay off more to you personally than a computer generated thank you letter from green peace.

I run a fairly large local environmental conglomerate. We support nature and people who want to foster an environmental ethic. It;s that ethic that will translate into our children…that is what we need to do.

Green peace and WWF are great don’t get me wrong, but supporting the fledglings is where the future lay IMHO. Email or IM me for more info if you like.