I'll soon be a student with free time in Europe! What should I do?

I’m getting all excited about this. I recently posted that I had a job offer as an engineering co-op student in Belgium. In the end, I took the job, and it starts in less than two weeks.

The job’s in Leuven, a mid-size city not far from Brussels. I expect to have my weekends off, and I want to look around the country (and maybe a little farther, if that’s feasible). Also, I have twelve days at the end of the work term (13-24 November) free, before my plane from Paris leaves on the 25th – I figure I can use this period to travel more broadly, maybe spend three or four days in each of a few places (the last being Paris so I don’t miss my plane).

So… what should I do? I’m a student, so it can’t be too pricy. Where should I go? What should I experience, explore, and see?

(So far, for the weekends, I’m thinking Brussels, a look at the Ardennes, and Antwerp, and maybe some of the WWi battlefields. I’m not sure about the twelve days at the end, but some of my friends say Switzerland is cool.

Oh, and I’m Canadian, and speak English and French, and have a marginal knowledge of German, if that helps any)

Any ideas?

Leuven…home of Stella Artois…could be you won’t find time to leave :wink:

Belgium’s only a little place, you’ll certainly be able to explore more widely should you want to…searching train times here, you’re 3 hours from Amsterdam, which could certainly occupy a weekend :wink: :slight_smile: …the Eurostar to London is a similar journey.

There’s also dirt cheap airlines from Brussels’ main airport (listed here, and of course Ryanair (who fly from Charleroi, a bit further from Brussels centre)

A train to the alps? Maybe Vienna or Berlin?

Not to be misunderstood… either a visit to the alps or maybe take a trip to Vienna or Berlin.

Brussels to the Alps is a looonnng train ride, but you break it up by going through Amsterdam, to Arnhem, Hamburg, Frankfurt, and Munich.