I'm cooking! Look ma, I'm cooking!

Warning, semi-long and probably boring.

Ok, I’m a college student. 20, male, living alone. For the longest time, I could only “cook” by using the microwave, toaster, or heating something on top of the stove. Oh, and sandwiches. I got those down pat. And I can’t forget the almost weekly delivery of Chinese food.

Not too long ago, I found a product called Prego Pasta Bake Sauce. I strongly recommend this to anyone with my [lack of] cooking talent. See, with this, you don’t have to pre-cook the pasta or anything (though I’m told it’s really simple anyway. Bah!). All I had to do was throw some uncooked ziti in a pan, toss in the sauce and a few cups of water, and throw it in the oven. Easy!

That was a few weeks ago (it turned out great, though slightly burnt). Tonight I did it again, but this time I got daring. I added some canned chicken chunks to it! oooh, ahhh (hey, I told you this was boring). I wanted to add in the cheddar cheese that I got instead of mozzarella, like last time, but I figured one variable (the chicken) was already enough. (curse you science education!). Anyway, it came out great, and I have delicious leftovers that will last me a few days.

So, the whole point is… I’m learning! Inch by inch, I’m getting closer to actually cooking! Sorry if this seems pointless and boring you guys, but to someone with no cooking experience who’s sick and tired of microwave dinners, this is just plain awesome. Heck, I feel like an excited puppy over this! :slight_smile: Ok, just had to share that. You can go back to your interesting lives now.

I learned to cook when I was ten years old, when my mom was sick in bed and it was Thanksgiving. She said the turkey was very good. Over the years I flatter myself to think me a rather passable cook. Now if only I could find someone to cook for

See, you’re already experimenting! Next thing you know, you’re at the bookstore poring over cookbooks! :smiley: