I'm going househunting Wednesday; what questions should I ask?

My bank went completely insane and pre-approved me for a home loan (poor suckers :D) (just kidding - I’m still giddy that they gave it to me!) so Wednesday I’m going around with a realtor to look at about 8 properties that she and I have found that fall in my price range. My price range being on the low end, I expect that anything I find is going to need some work, which I’m fine with as long as it isn’t anything major (a leaky toilet would be okay; a leaky roof, not so much).

I’ve never done this before. I know about looking for obvious signs of damage, asking about utilities, that kind of thing, but what else should I be looking for and asking about? Advice, anecdotes, handy tips that might help keep me from getting screwed would be much appreciated. I’m in Missouri, BTW, in case we have any MO-Dopers who know something about real estate!

Might want to ask about termite inspections, property taxes, insurance rates…including flood insurance, any particular zoning rules, easements, availability of cable/satellite TV, high speed internet, school districts if you have offspring, proximity of any registered sex offenders…

Ask about appliances - stove, fridge, dishwasher, water heater, central heat/air. Are they included? How old are they? Have they been regularly serviced (in the case of central heat/air).

If the floors are newly carpeted, be really careful to check for funky odors. If pet urine has been allowed to soak through carpet into hardwood flooring, the odor will come back and the flooring will probably have to be replaced.

Of course, if there are an attic and/or basement, visit them. If the house is not slab-built but has a crawl space, you might want to find an adventurous friend or hire someone to look under there. You are looking for signs of leakage or damage.

If the yard has fencing, check it or find out who owns it.