I'm moving on Tuesday and I have nothing packed

Every morning, I think to myself “I’ll start a box when I come home from work”, and then I come home tired from work and look at all the little knick knacks I’ve accumulated and put it off for another day. It’s going to be the second time I’m moving in three months. I had to move back in with my parents when my sister moved in with her fiance, right when I was scheduled to take a lengthy vacation. I got miffed, but then remembered that she was the one who took me in when I moved out towards the end of my college degree. It got so bad with my parents that I was living in a dingy room with awful roommates, going crazy from trying to do too much, and she told me to live with her for a while and she’ll cover the rent until I graduated and got a full time job. Somehow, I managed to move out of my parents with just a mattress, clothes, and a laptop but I moved back with six boxes full of stuff plus bags and bags of clothes.

Over the last three months, I’ve donated quite a bit of stuff, knowing I was going to move out again very shortly. I was planning on staying until May, just so I’d have a little more choice because the students would be leaving town then. But then in mid January, my dad had a crazy outburst and threw my cat outside because according to him, little fuzzy was being annoying. He’s a pudgy indoor cat who doesn’t know how to fend for himself, and I came home from work to find him shivering by the garbage cans. So, that was it… time to actively search and get the hell out. Found a place last week, paid the deposit, and move in date is February 1st. For the past week, my dad’s been stomping around, trying to pick fights over every little thing. Part of me wants to think that he’s acting this way because if I leave upset, it’ll be easier for him not to have me around again. The other part just screams “He’s an asshole! Just go and don’t think about it.”