I'm Moving to Costa Rica and I've Never Even Been There!

I’ve always had the bug to live internationally. (I consider myself medium-well-traveled; I’ve visited a handful of different countries and probably a quarter of the US states). Then one day I looked around…40 years old and still living in my home state. And I don’t even particularly LIKE my home state…

So I’ve spent the last six months researching international schools (I’m an intermediate school teacher) and preferred locations worldwide. Costa Rica was at the top of my list - I’m very into nature and conservation, have always felt an affinity with Latin American culture, and it’s supposed to be a very friendly and safe country. I just got a job at a private international school in San Jose and I’m super excited!

I’ve never actually been there - just done tons and tons of research and gotten information from friends that have visited. Realistically, there was no way for me to visit EVERY location that would have worked, so I had to base my decision on the advice of friends who know me and my experiences in other Latin American countries. I know I will experience some culture shock but I’m not really sure what form that will take. I enjoy people but I’m an introvert at heart, so I’m hoping that a support system of fellow teachers will be enough to sustain me.

I have about 6 months to pare myself down to whatever I can fit onto a plane; brush back up on my conversational Spanish; and prepare for the unknown. Woohoo!

Any stories or advice from others who have made a similar life change is very welcome!