Inkscape vector program--what should I know?

I’ve been looking for vector illustration software for a while now, and I’d really like to find a program cheaper than Illustrator. So far, the best thing I’ve found is Inkscape, a free open-source program that seems to have the same capabilities, but I’m a little worried about downloading it virtually sight unseen. Has anyone here used it? If so, are there any drawbacks (or advantages) of the program I should know about? If you don’t like it, are there any other cheaper Illustrator-alternatives you’d recommend?

Cheaper than free? No such thing.

I have tried Inkscape a few times, but I am not an artist or trained graphics designer. I do not know how it compares to Illustrator.

Having said all that, I was able to do what I needed to do in a matter of hours. I was designing a logo for a small business, and was able to do just that.

When I was researching free graphics software, the two names that keep cropping up are GIMP and Inkscape.

There is no harm in downloading it and giving it a try. Yes, I thought it had a bit of a learning curve, but then, I had never used a vector-based graphics program before. I would probably have had the same learning curve with Illustrator. From what I have seen, if you know Illustrator, then the basics of Inkscape will be familiar, and you will be further along in a short amount of time than someone who is struggling to learn the concepts of vector-based drawing.

I am not any better with Inkscape because I haven’t had a need to use it.

I don’t know how good it is in producing printed matter, though. It may not do color-separated (CMYK) output files, so that is something you may need to consider. (For example, GIMP is great for doing screen-based graphics, but I don’t believe it can produce a printer-ready poster. At least, I know I can’t with my current version. Inkscape may have a similar limitation.)