Interview Postponed, bad news?

So I have been in the process of interviewing at a big company in town. The pay is high (for the area and type of job) and there were about 20 applicants for the job. I have some experience with jobs of this nature, though it isn’t a job related to what the field for which I am currently enrolled in school.

I apparently passed their assessment test with flying colors, and a formal interview was scheduled for Wed of this week. I got a call yesterday saying they would like to postpone the interview until Tuesday of next week. (thankfully it is spring break and I don’t have classes in the morning)

My initial thoughts are that it is bad news. I have never had an interview, one made a week in advance, postponed. My girlfriend says that if they had found somebody else they would probably have canceled the interview.

What are some thoughts on this? Bad news like I dread, or just suddenly overwhelmed at the HR? Personally to me the length of the delay suggests they hired somebody, and are foreseeing another similar position come up, or they already hired somebody and don’t want to just cancel it, though I have no idea why.

No insights from the HR point of view from me.

If I were you, I’d feel like it was bad news. I felt that way when an on-campus interview was changed to a phone interview, even though the phone interview was sooner and I was told that it was a scheduling conflict on their end.

On the other hand, even large, well-staffed HR offices have employees who have deaths in the family, heart attacks, car accidents, or various other things go wrong which may neccessitate postponing something–like a job interview. So, you’d better still be prepared to put your best foot forward, or you’ll not get the job because of you, not because of whatever’s going on behind the scenes.

Hmm, very hard to say. The interviewer could have had something come up and been called out of town.