Interviewing for a promotion

Here’s the scenario. Our office represents a public agency, and has about 45 attorneys and maybe 10 support staff, divided into 2 “teams,” each of which has an attorney supervisor. There is one big boss over the entire office.

We have gotten authority to hire a third supervisor, and word is at least one of the current supervisors is stepping down. So they will be hiring at least 1 and possibly as many as 3 new supervisors.

This job is open to people in our office, people with our agency nationwide, or anyone else who met the required criteria (most likely somewhat experienced lawyers from private law firms, corporations, or other public agencies.) AFAIK, 5 people in my office have applied - all are well qualified, tho of course, not as impressive as yours truly.

I submitted my application, which required writing samples, statements of my qualifications, etc. Which is kinda silly, because I have been an attorney here for 14 years, and if they don’t know whether I’d be qualified or not … Basically, I do a lot of work and I do that work well - generally at or near the top of the office in production quantity and quality. But, I have never been an asskisser, and have stupidly expressed my self one or two times over my 14 year tenure (tho not in the last couple of years.)

So, they are setting up interviews for next week (great timing, huh?) They have one hour slots for 10-15 candidates, so on a numerical basis, my odds aren’t insurmountable. They are flying in 2 big cheeses, who will make up a panel of 3 interviewers (including our big boss).

My quandry is, how the heck do I approach this interview? Like I said, if my big boss doesn’t already know if he would like me as a supervisor, how the heck am I gonna convince him in a one hour interview? It is wierd talking to him about it, knowing he could be sitting there thinking, “What the fuck are you thinking, Dinsdale? No way in hell you will ever be a supervisor in my office.”