Is America the only country with a "company store" healthcare system?

Everyone’s debating about healthcare in the US. A lot of countries have socialized health care. Among the ones with private healthcare, is it common for people to get healthcare through employers (excluding people in armed forces and such) rather than individually?

France, Germany, Switzerland and Japan have forms of UHC that involve getting private insurance via your workplace.

In Britain, private cover such as BUPA is quite a common perk in management level jobs.

In Oz, there has been a government push since the last administration to get people into private health care. However, of all the people I know who have it, I only know one who got it through his workplace - and he worked for IBM.

I’m a moderately well-paid professional, and I’d be quite surprised to be offered healthcare as part of an employment package. Can’t speak for management-level though.

In Israel employers are required to cover health insurance, but the actual fund is selected by the employee.

As far as Germany is concerned, the system is much different from the US though: it is not the company that chooses the health insurance provider but the employee, and the insurance is portable between employers. When starting with a new employer, the employee tells the payroll department what statutory insurance scheme he is a member of, and the member reference number, and the employer deducts and forwards the appropriate percentage of salary to the insurance.

Another Aussie checking in. My experience is the same as Aspidistra’s in that it’s very rare to get private health insurance as part of a salary package.

The only times I’ve seen it done is by American companies who come to Australia who probably offer it simply because it’s policy in their US offices or they think it’s a big perk.

I’m always surprised to see it since we’ve got a pretty good public system and private health care is relatively cheap anyway.