Is cocaine similar to alcohol, like, it takes more the heavier I am?

Does a 400lb man need to do more cocaine than say, a 195lb man? Granted, nobody should be doing cocaine and this thread does not advocate drug use, I’m curious to see if cocaine is similar to alcohol when it comes to working on an individual.

Not to hijack too much, but can I add a more general general question:

What kinds of substances are dosed linearly by body weight, and what kinds are not?

Great question. Thanks, because now we can get a possible list in one thread. Thanks, groman

Well, I’m no expert, but since cocaine’s effect does not rely on circulating in the bloodstream, I’d say “no.” Drugs that are snorted or smoked will hit the brain and do their thing before getting diffused.

Injecting heroin, swallowing pills – I’d think that these will be size-dependent.

Well, cocaine will keep doing it’s thing until fully metabolized. I don’t have a cite but I remember reading that only 1% of cocaine leaves the body unchanged. Since it is mostly metabolized in the liver, I would imagine it actively circulates in the bloodstream, with a small concentration crossing the blood-brain barrier and binding to receptors. I am also not an expert, but my guess would be is that after initial blood concentration peak the blood concentration will be dropping with a relatively stable half-life. Your blood concentration will obviously depend on dose vs. amount of blood, so my WAG is cocaine dosage is at least somewhat sensitive to body mass (+ liver health and enzyme competition).

What? Unless you’re injecting it intrathecally, every drug has to travel through the bloodstream before it gets to the brain and exerts its effects, right?

I think you’re right, chorpler.

And by what mechanism do they “hit the brain”?