Is it feasible or worthwhile to discuss the personality traits of fictional literacy characters?

Having just read a whole website dedicated to the discussion of Buffalo Bill from Silence of The Lambs (most opinions and character analyses offered by female transgender experts) I wonder if it’s total rubbish and a complete waste of time arguing about the psyche and personality traits of a made up character, or whether it is a useful discussion into the workings of the human mind.

Can you really claim to know whether Heathcliff was a rugged, broken hearted lover or a violent masochist? And was Mary Poppins a liberated female teaching the elite a thing or two…or was she just a glorified governess making the children tidy their rooms and fold up their clothes by singing a song or two?

Can you really write a meaningful critique of someone who is not real?

Perhaps, but you should have a background in Psychology, & be really, really familar with the works.

I am an English teacher but sometimes wonder if I’m spouting complete drivel. How can I tell a class of students that Macbeth was a troubled soul, driven by his greedy wife and his insatiable ambition when in reality he’s largely a product of Shakespeare’s imagination (I know there WAS a Macbeth) I’ve never met the guy and can’t possibly claim to know anything about him.

I think that’s the key factor. When you discuss the mental activity of a fictional character, you have to remember you’re really discussing the mental activity of the author.

Exactly, take Joan of Arc. She was a real person. But was she really a heroic and determined woman of her times, fighting a war for the greater cause…or was she a lunatic with schizophrenic voices in her head? Who can possibly say? Historians can argue for a life time but as none of us were there to clarify, and as they are all long dead, who knows? We will never know, so is it correct to grade literary students on their answers to unanswerable questions?