Is it irresponsible to call obesity an "epidemic"?

I’m no expert, but being morbidly obese to me means that you’re too fat to feed yourself, or you can’t fit into a normal car, etc. And being “overweight” is far exagerated in society. My friend (who is a 5’9 175 pound man) qualifies as borderline “fat” on the BMI scale. I take fat to mean obese here, so my friend, who is not fat by any means, he actually weight trains and isn’t even amazing at it. His max bench is only 200 or so, but he looks quite buff (which is just his low body fat % showing his muscle properly).

If such a scale is so easily decieved by someone who works out 3 hours a week and eats properly, why is it taken as meaningful in any way? I’m of course assuming that the BMI is the basis for all of the “fat-mongering” people out there claiming obesity as an epidemic. I’m no “fat-ass” by any means, according to the BMI I’m underweight (5’8 135 pounds) which I disagree with a whole lot. I was very much underweight when I was 115 pounds, but no way at 135.

The statistic-huggers grip to the fact that “50%” of high school students are overweight. I’m sorry but I have to call BS on that “statistic”. I graduated this year from a pretty average high school up in Canada (2200 students or so, very wide array of course options) so not a rich one, or a poor one. There is no way anyone could convince me half of the students were overweight. Maybe 20-30% at the most, and that seems high to me. Being the curious person I am, I tried to guess as to how many people were “fat” in my classes, and there were maybe 1-2 per class of 30 or so (that is by no means an accurate sample size, of course).