Is it just my age, or am I too much of a Star Trek geek?

Something happened at work today that has me wondering if I really am too old.

I work as a baker(suprise, suprise) at the cafe in our library. From my workstation in the kitchen I can see out to the serving line. I saw a customer in line that I had seen before, a middle aged guy(read, older than me, I’m only 48), who has absolutely the worst looking toupee I have ever seen. Although it matches in color what I can see of the hair he has left, a medium brown, it it sort of fuzzy/curly looking, while his own hair appears to be straight.

I mentioned him to our dishwasher, a young man of about 20. And I said to him “it looks as if he has a Tribble perched on top of his head!” Instead of getting agreement with my supremely witty comment, all I got was a blank stare. “You didn’t see the original Star Trek?” “Nope” You really don’t know what a Tribble is?" “Nope” I thought about explaining but decided against it.

So is it just me being out of touch with today’s culture?

nah, that guy is just a dork. only cool people like us watch star trek.

Well, the trouble with him… aw fuck it.

Yes, you are too much of a Star Trek geek. Of course, so am I, so that doesn’t help.

Speaking of my being a geek, I just now realized I put this thread in the Pit, when I meant for it to go into MPSIMS. If a mod sees this before they see my email, could it please be moved?

<< hurries to flame Baker for being an Old Fart clinging idiotically to the Ghosts of Star Trek past before the thread gets moved to MPSIMS >>
:smiley:
actually, I’m the only one I know who remembers why “He’s dead, Jim” is funny, so scoot over, plenty of room for two, there in the Old Farts Corner

And the response to DDG is “you get his tricorder and I’ll grab his wallet”

So long as they continue to cast such incredibly hot-lookin’ ladies, I’ll be a Star Trek geek.