Is it more expensive to eat healthily?

Overheard at a party: Poor people are fat because it costs so much to eat healthy (sic).

If we ignore for the sake of discussion the gross generalization, do you believe it is cheaper to eat badly?

I am a 43 year old bachlor (sp) and I confess that I am too lazy to cook for myself on a regular basis, so I am not an expert. But I do know that a can of soup is cheaper than a bag of chips. A bag of potatoes are cheaper than a frozen pizza. A can of tuna is cheaper than - well you get the idea. However, I do not have to cook for a family and so I can’t really say. What do you guys think?

In certain contexts it is more expensive in my experience. At a fast food chain restaurant, a salad is way more expensive than an order of fries.

IMO price has very little to do with it. It’s easier to eat badly, and it’s also much more tempting.

If you’re tired/busy/depressed and don’t want to cook from scratch, unhealthy convenience food tends to cost less than healthy convenience food. Hamburgers usually cost a lot less than fresh sandwiches, veggie burgers, or big salads. Poor people may live in areas where there are more convenience stores (always expensive) than supermarkets, and may have little access to fresh produce.

I think part of it depends on what you mean by “healthy.” If you eat a lot of beans and pasta and such, that’s often cheaper than crap convenience foods. However, those foods tend to be starchy, and there’s a lot of debate about whether or not they’re actually good for you or not. If you’re talking lean meat and out-of-season produce, the convenience foods are often cheaper.

I think scale also has to be included in the topic. It seems (and, no, I have not run the numbers on this) that feeding a medium sized or large family healthy food may be cheaper than feeding a a medium sized or large family convenience foods. But feeding a single person convenience food seems cheaper than feeding that person healthily.