Is it Warmer at the top of tall buildings?

As a private pilot, I agree fully with Cecil’s assessment of the variation in mean air temperature with altitude. However, I feel that he has missed the point somewhat.

Given that the question relates to buildings, one would assume that the individual would actually be inside the structure (there are very few tall buildings where you can actually step foot outside). In this case, you are then faced with two things. Firstly there is the ubiquitious air-conditioning which strives to maintain a constant air temperature throughout the building (let’s just ignore the fact that there can be different temperature settings in different offices). Secondly there is the fact that this does not always work as effeciently as desired.

Now, as you all know, heat rises (an oversimplification I know, but bear with me). Heat in a large commercial building can be generated from several sources including computers, trapped warmth from the sun, and people themselves.

Without a venting mechanism to let warmer air escape from above and cooler air enter from below, the warmth will have a tendency to be trapped in the building, and the higher you go, the greater the cumulative effect of this.

Therefore, yes, it is true that it can be warmer at the top of a tall building than the bottom. However the degree of this difference and the threshhold at which this statement becomes true does depend on such things as the efficiency of the internal air conditioning, the material and insulation involved in the buildings structure and the outside air temperature among other things.

In order to see this for yourself, just find an older building on a hot summers day, go to the lower floor, then travel to one of the upper floors and watch the poor suckers sweating as the air conditioning vainly tries to cope with the heat.

Hi and welcome to the SDMB! It helps if you include a link to the column in question so we can all get on the same page.