Is Japanese really the hardest to learn E.Asian language, and Vietnamese the easiest?

For English speakers, the Foreign Service Institute lists Japanese as the hardest language to learn (out of all they teach).

Why? Wouldn’t chinese with its accent-based meanings be more difficult? What is it about Japanese that makes it even harder?

Note: ‘Difficulty’ is defined as how long it takes the average 40-year old college-graduate student to learn the language to level ‘3’ “Professional Working Proficiency”, when studying full time.

On the subject, I’ve heard that Vietnamese is the easiest Asian language for English speakers. My guess is because they use the Latin Alphabet?

It’s because it’s hard to learn to read and write. The FSI measure of proficiency comprises “General Professional Proficiency in Speaking” and “General Professional Proficiency in Reading”. The Japanese writing system is by far the most difficult in the world to master.

I’ve been learning Japanese for many years and am functionally illiterate in the language. And of course, being unable to read cuts you off from the ability to learn from written materials.

I think Indonesian/Malay has got to be easier than Vietnamese for a typical native English speaker. Vietnamese is a tonal language, and many of its phonemes are also significantly different from English.

Japanese is also, as I understand (I’ve taken several years of Japanese but only a few weeks of Chinese) much more difficult to speak with social appropriateness - I’d taken the language for a year, and then all of a sudden we learn that there’s a lot more to it than that, different verbs for speaking to people above you and below you, etc. Chinese is tonal, yes, but has IIRC a pretty simple grammar. And of course with Japanese you have to not only learn to read and write Chinese characters but also two other syllabic alphabets.