Is Marketing a good major?

Hello, I’m a high school student. Once upon a time, I believed what I was told, “Oh, just pick a major based off of your interests! You’ll do fine!”

Based off of that, I had a pretty good sense of what I would like to major in. Foreign languages, Anthropology, or perhaps Journalism!

Then, I faced the harsh, harsh, HARSH reality of those jobs. D: Egads…

So… I decided to make a compromise with my interests and to what I believed would be a good major. Business Administration with a concentration in Marketing and minors in French and German.

The reason for my desired minors is because… well… I love Europe and I love foreign languages and I believe that those two would provide some benefit to business.

So… what do you guys think?

This may be more suitable to IMHO… or perhaps The Pit :slight_smile:

Your major is very close to mine (International Business major, concentration in Marketing, minor in German). I had basically no problem finding a corporate job after college. I make pretty good money in a seemingly stable industry, but I can’t say I find the work particularly fulfilling.

Corporate America definitely isn’t for everyone, and I kind of wish I had gone to school for something I was truly interested in. YMMV!

I would actually love to major in what you’re currently studying, but, unfortunately, I cannot find any accredited schools within my state (Oregon) that offer International Business. If I ask, what, specifically, is your job?

EDIT: Okay, a school that I’m looking at offers an International Business certificate. Is that worth going for, or is it useless?

Looking for opinions? IMHO.

Moved from General Questions.

samclem, moderator