Is Steam worth it?

I’ve been avoiding Steam for several years now, as I used to get all my 80’s games from abandonware.net and running them on DosBox. However, recently I’ve really been jonesing to play the original X-Com: UFO Defense. I have several different inferior freeware versions, but the original doesn’t work on DosBox. Steam is selling it for $4.99, but I’m sure how Steam works. Will it open in a browser window? Do I just get a download? Does it come with an emulator? Does it work in Windows 8?

Thanks in advance.

You’ll download a steam client that will run the game. It won’t play within a browser window, or at least none of my steam games ever have. I don’t know why it wouldn’t work in windows 8; I’ve never seen someone have a problem playing a steam game in windows 8.

After you buy the game, do you own it permanently like Kindle books?

Yes

I’m looking around Steam right now, and it seems like their game choices are very, very limited. They only have X-Com 1, for example, not the expansion pack, terror from the deep, and it’s their only Microprose game. If I do join, will I see more choices?

X-Com terror from the deep is $4.99 on Steam
Just type X Com in the search box.

Will the games I buy work only on my computer, or can I use them on multiple computers? Will the emulator work with iPads?

The games live in the cloud. When you want to play a game, you download it to your computer. If you no longer want to play a game and don’t want it taking up space, you can uninstall it but if, at a later date, you want it again, you can re-download it from the cloud.

You can play your games on multiple computers but you have to download them for each device and your account can only be active on one device at a time.