Is teaching a true profession?

Is teaching a true profession? I’m a new teacher and I say ‘not quite’.

Of the various professional fields – Medicine, Law, Politics, Business, Military Defense and Entertainment – teaching can be compared to any of them and is found mostly wanting. Education should stand with all of them, but except in rare and mostly individual cases, this is not so.

1. Teachers are not automatically paid commensurate with their skill, knowledge, talent or experience.

2. Teaching is still organized on an obsolete agricultural seasonal model in many parts of the country.

3. Teaching shares more in common with trade organizations than traditional professions. Particularly in hierarchy, wages, benefits, and prestige.

4. Teachers largely do not have support staff, as true professionals do.

5. True professions have never had governing bodies made up of people outside the profession to dictate policy and standards.

6. Pop cultural perception marginalizes and trivializes teaching. Just look at “Boston Public.”

7. Teaching at all levels needs more men.

I have pride in my new career. I love my job. I try hard to be professional. But while teaching will probrably become a true profession in my lifetime, teaching’s not there yet.

This is from a nursing text. see: http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~erw/nur301/profession/characteristics/

Not so fast.

Most public and even private schools have a salary schedule based on the teacher’s experience, degrees and/or academic certification. Yes there are inequities, but there are inequities in any field where the practitioner does not set his/her own salary.

Medicine is still based on the antiquated notion of interns working 48 hours straight. Firefighters regularly work similar schedules. There are a number of professions that retain practices that made more sense a century ago.