Is there a word for noticeable empty diagonal space in text?

Okay, I don’t know if the title description is enough of a description.

I am an avid reader, and read a lot, every day, both regular books, and now on my Kindle (love that thing). In both formats, and even occasionally on the web, I’ll be reading, and my eye will be drawn to a line of empty space in a paragraph. Usually it is diagonal, but sometimes it is vertical, or zig-zags back and forth when scanning down the page.

Does anybody know if there is a word describing this? Or is this something people don’t notice, indicating that I’m just deranged?

They’re called rivers, and they are considered a bad thing in the typesetting world.

Edit (now I know I got in first :wink: ) - I’m a copy editor and I spend a long time fiddling with kerning, tracking and hyphenation in order to minimise the appearance of rivers. On screen, where line breaks are dependent on font size and screen dimensions and so are usually not fixed, this can’t be done, and the result is the ugliness you mention.

As a typographer, I know this effect as ‘rivers of white’, caused by poorly set justified text, often seen in newspapers where the column width is so narrow that long words can cause odd spaces. It’s one of the reason that ranged-left typesetting has become more popular as it avoids this problem.

Since I started working on newspapers, URLs have become common in copy, and they can be a nightmare to set without causing rivers. Obviously you can’t hyphenate them; we tend to just insert a line break at a suitable point to get round it.

Thank you… That has been bothering me for a while now, but random googling failed!

I’m even sure that I heard the term at one time, and just forgot it (as I seem to forget so many things nowadays). I’ll be back in a couple years to ask again, I’m sure.