Is there an equivilent of guitar tuners for voices?

My dad plays guitar and sings. He recently bought something called a “Vocal Trainer,” which, from how he described it, seems to be something like this. The Vocal Trainer removes vocals from CDs and can slow the speed without altering the pitch. However, that wasn’t exactly what Dad was looking for. What he described as wanting was “a guitar tuner for voices” - that is, a little visual cue that can tell him whether or not he’s singing on key.

Is there such a product? If so, do you have any recommendations? If it isn’t too expensive (I’m a 20-year-old student), I’d like to get him one for Christmas.

Heh. You could use any old (electric/battery power) tuner. Most of them have a little mic in them. They even have software-type thingies that do the same thing.

Link

That tells you whether you’re on pitch or not; you have to make the adjustments yourself. I haven’t been able to locate the tuning pegs for my voice just yet… :smiley:

Something like that will only tell you if a single sustained note is in tune. It will not tell you if a melody is in tune.

True, but I’m not aware of anything that does that. Wouldn’t it have to be preprogrammed to know exactly what you’re supposed to be singing and when?

Antares Autotune could correct the pitch of a monophonic vocal line after the fact.

I think the closest you might get is the good old tuner advised above. A guitar tuner likely won’t have the right pitch range (?) – you’d need a strobe tuner of the sort piano tuners are familiar with, and they’re expensive, even used. However, hook a Shure SM58 up to your computer, load TuneLab software, and you have a pretty good digital approximation. I’ve used this combination (SM57 + Tunelab) to tune my Rhodes, and it worked great for getting a good couple of reference notes (but the ear is the final judge!).