Is there any benefit of shipping IT jobs to India?

My entire IT organization is being outsourced. We’ve gone to school, gained experience in the work place practicing our trade and now we’re finding ourselves out of a job. India has people that will do our jobs for half the cost of US based IT people. I don’t know anyone that enjoys having their calls answered by some Indian person when they need tech support. I don’t want to stereotype but the support just isn’t that good and is downright terrible most of the time. Not to mention, you can hardly understand them as they aren’t required to speak proper English. I’m an IT engineer and I’m about to loose my job to an outsourcing company that my company is bringing in to run our entire IT dept. I feel that this is killing America and IT and no one gives a shit. How is this helping our country? What’s the plus side to this? I’m sure there are arguments on both sides of the fence and I’d like to know how this helps America and IT professionals in general…

well, if the task you are doing is simple enough, yes, they will manage fine. They will probably mismanage their way into cost overruns, but the job will get done, more or less. OTOH, if the work is of the more complex type, chances are it will all explode in the face of the dumb suits who initiated the move. Just because somebody from India tells you, we can do this, that and the other, does not make it so. Many outsourcing companies have already found that out (too late) but the knowledge has not yet fully sunk into the popular imagination.

The word is lose, not loose.