Is there any time or place in the history of mankind that wild pigs have been caught like this?

Just curious. Here is a piece is fairly typical “fear your government” gargling, but it has the unique aspect of including some hunting lore. Has a group of wild pigs ever been caught in this fashion in any place or time in human history?

To Catch a Wild Pig - A Parable About Society That Offers Valuable Lessons for Leaders

Sure sounds a heck of a lot more complicated and time consuming than hunting or trapping by more conventional means.

Plus, I’m no hog expert, but do they typically move in herds?

I’d be shocked if that were true. Wild pigs were hunted widely in Europe until they were mostly depopulated (they’ve significantly repopulated in the 20th century.) I’m not an expert on pre-Industrial boar hunting but I’ve read a lot of period works and descriptions of boar hunting typically involve spears and a lot of men, not baiting and fencing.

The part about laying the corn out on a regular basis is classic “baiting.” You create a steady food source for animals over a period of time, and eventually you go to cash in by waiting around the food source for the animals (now accustomed to coming there to eat) and killing them. Aside from some limited forms it’s essentially prevented in most American states I’m aware of as it isn’t seen as appropriate behavior for a modern hunter. For people who actually hunted because they needed to, sure they’d bait boars or anything else and I don’t doubt boars have been baited with corn at some point in time.