IT job titles

So, how many different types of IT work is out there? This includes hardware and software.

Here is what I know is out there:
[ul]
[li]Help desk[/li][li]Repair[/li][li]Programming[/li][LIST]
[li]Software developer[/li][li]Software engineer[/li][/ul]
[li]Network[/li][ul]
[li]Technician[/li][li]Engineer[/li][li]Administrator[/li][/ul]
[li]Database Administrator[/li][/LIST]

What else is out there?

Systems Administrator/Engineer

Which can then be broken down by OS type (Windows, Unix, VMS, etc) if you like.

Also the various Desktop Support roles

Don’t know if these are standard but we have

Architect
Analyst
Project manager
Program Manager
Tester
Requirements lead
Release Manager
Release planner
Deployment manager

And probably a bunch more I’m forgetting

I am a systems analyst. It is a broad job title that combines technical and business knowledge to solve business problems. Systems analysts vary a lot in what they do. Many do lots of hands on programming but also some project management and dealing with other types of management to provide solutions. Lots of companies have them and it is a direct path to the CIO position.

There are also business systems analysts that are similar but focus more on the business rather than the technical side.

Software architect is another type of job in this category and sometimes ranked as one of the best jobs to have among all jobs. They design software packages the way other architects design buildings. They are similar to some in some ways but focus on a smaller number of large projects with more individual control.