It's not mouses or mice, dammit!

Check the Microsoft ::shudder:: or Apple Style Guides. The plural is referred to as “mouse devices.” Case closed.

Sorry, but I’m a tech writer and I come across this kind of crap every day. Don’t get me started on realtime versus real time. One’s an adjective, and one’s a noun. (You can perform realtime editing … You can export your project in real time.) Even the idiots at Apple and Adobe (whom I’ve spoken to in countless conference calls) don’t get it. They avoid it by hyphenating it at every instance in their documentation. What a cop-out.

BTW, I hate Windoze XP. More on that to follow.

• s.e.

And don’t get me started on how many people fail to use the correct term for “mouse animals”.

Is it just me, or is scott evil on an anti-technology jag this evening?:confused:

“I hate meeses to pieces!”

This is a bit of a sad rant. It might’ve been a bit more effective if it was about something that actually mattered to people.

Maybe so. I have to deal with tech crap five days a week. I take screen grabs for my manual only to hear that they’re changing the interface yet again and I’ll have to redo my screen grabs, because some fuck-up in marketing didn’t like the look of our “OK” and “Cancel” buttons. I mean, fuck off, no one reads the manuals anyway. If they were to actually open the pages, I hardly think that they would see any difference between a rectangular button and a rounded one.

I still wonder why I get paid a huge salary to produce fantastic user guides for people who don’t even bother reading them.

• s.e.

Might I suggest the little mantra I find useful in such situations?

“It all Pays the same”
“It all Pays the same”
“It all Pays the…”

I always say “mice”. One mouse, two mice, just like the critters. I’ve never even heard to term “mouse devices”, and I worked for 6 years as a Sys Admin/geek.

I guess you learn something new everyday!

Zette