Jesus Fucking Christ. A NJ toll collector can earn $31.58 an hour?!?!?

holy shit. Just reading that makes me want to fly out to Wisconsin and pat Scott Walker on the back. That is just fucking insane.

Just think about this for a minute. 32 bucks an hour to collect a ticket, stick it in a machine, ask for a sum, receive said sum, and maybe make change.

http://www.nj.com/news/index.ssf/2011/02/nj_toll_booth_collectors_rally.html

What proportion of toll collectors make it to the top pay grade, do you suppose?

probably all of them. I seriously, seriously doubt the job has a merit-based payscale.

Probably has a time-in-service payscale, though.

yes, which coupled with presumably strong union protections as to job tenure, would ensure that all of them would be given the opportunity to max out their hourly wage.

breathing all that vehicle exhaust.

Frankly, should I care how long you’ve been doing that nonskilled job after a certain point? I have a masters’ degree. I make about 42,000 a year and with the budget as it is do not see a raise in the near future.

From this page.

And you worry about the wages of the toll takers? Very small drop in a very large bucket.

I’m not so sure why you think debt financing activities for construction projects are relevant :rolleyes:

The agency runs massive surpluses yet still needs to obtain credit to fund infrastructure. As does any business.

What a crisis that some working class jobs can keep a family out of poverty, at least for now.

You left out “make change for literally hundreds of motorists per day, all in seconds so no 1 gets pissed off and shoots me since I’m trapped in a little room with tons of steel whizzing past me all day while I breath exhaust fumes.”

Hey, the money is good. If you think that’s a better job than whatever it is you do for money now, go apply. Go get that job. You won’t be fighting me for it, at least.